Grand opening: Wave uncorks on Yorktown in 2017 debut


Updated 9:09am April 3 — Coach Jeff Brameier described the Wave’s win over Yorktown as “opening the season in a grand way.”

It was more like a grand slam of visiting rival Yorktown, N.Y., the Wave taking it 15-4 on Saturday.

A good sign of things to come.

— Jeff Brameier

“Despite the chilly weather the Laxhawk was spotted soaring today,” Brameier noted, “(it’s) a good sign of things to come.”

It earned the Wave the Lener Plaque for the fourth straight season.

“It was a great team win,” said senior captain Riley Stewart. “Our defense really stepped up as Arden Cohen, Andrew Darby, Quinn Fay and Matt Gould filled in spots alongside past starter Jake Bieler to hold Yorktown to minimal goals.”

While Darien starts at 1-0, Yorktown goes to 1-1.

Logan McGovern had five goals and four assists and Matt Meyjes three goals and two assists.

“They launched their first season as starters in dramatic fashion,” said Brameier.

Stewart had two goals, one assist, Kevin Lindley two goals, Brian Minicus one goal, one assist, Finlay Collins and Jack Joyce one goal apiece.

“On offense Matt Meyjes and Logan McGovern stepped up, showing us their potential (by) just displaying how we aren’t skipping a beat,” Stewart said. “Also great success at the faceoff-x by Tanner Strub and Jack Beatty allowed for great possession time and success.”

The defense was led by All American goalie, Ryan Cornell who starting his third season made 11 saves.

Brameier credited a tremendous effort from the defensive corp of Cohen, Fay, Bieler, Nick Percarpio, Andrew Darby, Gould, Joyce, Blake Sommi and Nick Green, holding a formidable Yorktown offense that returned all starters from last year's state runner-up team to one goal per quarter.

“(We) also answered the face-off issue with a great performance from Tanner Strub winning 10-of-14,” said Brameier.

“We will work hard to prepare for McMahon and then Niskayuna coming up,” Stewart added.

Scoring Totals


Logan McGovern 5-4

Matt Meyjes 3-2

Riley Stewart 2-1

Kevin Lindley 2-0

Finlay Collins 1-0

Jack Joyce 1-0

Brian Minicus 1-1


Hunter Embrey 1-1

Justin Cavallo 1-0

Jamison Embrey 1-0

Steven Veteri 1-0

Kyle Casey 0-1



Ryan Cornell 11

Sean Collins 2


Louis Ragusa 12

Darien Record 1-0

Darien will host Brien McMahon on Tuesday, 4pm to open up the FCIAC schedule on the Oval Turf field.