Darien boys lacrosse kicks off Class L playoffs with 23-4 rout of Xavier

The Darien Blue Wave made quick work of the Xavier Falcons with a convincing 23-4 victory in the opening round of the CIAC Class L boys lacrosse tournament on Wednesday.

Darien (20-0) led 9-0 after one quarter and scored 12 more goals in the second frame en route to the win.

It was the top-seeded Wave’s 75th consecutive victory, and set up third meeting with the No. 8 Wilton Warriors, who also won in a rout, 17-3 over Farmington, in the first round. Darien and Wilton (13-6) will play in the quarterfinals at 3 p.m., Saturday, at DHS.

Darien, which rested its top two scorers — Brian Minicus and Logan McGovern — were led offensively by Henri Pfeifle and Hudson Pokorny with six points apiece. Pfeifle had a game-high four goals with two assists, while Pokorny had three goals and three assists.

Ethan Dewbrey and Holt Matheis each had a hat trick and one assist; Michael Minicus and Tanner Strub each scored twice, with Minicus adding one assist, and Jack Joyce and Jackson Peters each had a goal and an assist.

Blake Sommi, Jamison Moore and Connor Darby chipped in with one goal apiece and Carter Flanagan, Ryan Darby and Sam Wilson each added an assist.

The defense was led by the quartet of goalies — Sean Collins, Andy DeMopoulos, Spencer Smith and Sander Schuddeboom — who combined for nine saves.

The defensive group was solid behind Andrew Darby, Matt Gould, Tyler Strub, Charlie Olsen, Connor Olson, Sam Cragin, Pierce Hoyda, Pete Graham, Teddy Brannigan, Reilly Warble, Blake Cellar, Connor Sullivan, Will Nelson, John Reynolds, Sam Erickson, Callum McNear, Matthew Cavoli and Sam Wilson.

The faceoff quartet of Tanner Strub (11-for-11), Matt Freeman (11-for-13), Noah Dewbrey (1-for-2) and Chase Gulick (2-for-2) all contributed to the domination of possession time for the Wave.

Class L Boys Lacrosse, First Round - Darien 23, Xavier 4

Wed., May 30, at Darien HS

Darien 9-12-1-1 23

Xavier 0-0-1-3 4

Xavier: JJ Ford 2g; Brad Ryder 2g

Darien: Henri Pfeifle 4g, 2a; Hudson Pokorny 3g, 3a; Ethan Dewbrey, 3g, 1a; Holt Matheis 3g, 1a; Michael Minicus 2g, 1a; Tanner Strub 2g; Jack Joyce 1g, 1a; Jackson Peters 1g, 1a; Blake Sommi 1g; Jamison Moore 1g; Connor Darby 1g; Carter Flanagan 1a; Ryan Darby 1a; Sam Wilson 1a


D - Sean Collins, Andy DeMopoulos, Spencer Smith and Sander Schuddeboom - 9 saves combined