Recommended Video:


Twelve Wave players scored in Darien’s 22-1 win over Brien McMahon at home on Monday.

One coach did a lot more.

The result marked a milestone as coach Jeff Brameier matched the high mark set by former New Canaan coach Howard Benedict as the all-time winningest lacrosse coach in state history with 551 victories, all at Darien, and tied for seventh all time in the nation.

Benedict coached from 1973 to 2007. Brameier has coached the Wave since 1984.

Kevin Lindley scored five goals and had two assists.

Logan McGovern was (4-2), while Matt Meyjes (3-1), Ethan Dewbrey (3-0), Hudson Pokorny (2-2), Peter Hartigan (2-1), Brian Minicus (2-1), Riley Stewart (1-2) and Henri Pfeifle (0-2) also had multiple point days.

“The defense was led by goalies Ryan Cornell (three saves), Sean Collins (three) and Will Culliton (two),” said Brameier, “and by a steady flow of long poles: Arden Cohen, Jake Bieler, Quinn Fay, Nick PercarpioAndrew Darby, Matt Gould, Tyler Strub, Charlie Olson; and the stellar face-off play of Tanner Strub (10-15) and Jack Beatty (9-14)."


Darien   11-6-2-3  =  22

McMahon  1-0-0-0 = 1

Darien Scoring:

Kevin Lindley  (5-2)

Logan McGovern (4-2)

Matt Meyjes (3-1)

Hudson Pokorny (2-2)

Ethan Dewbrey (3-0)

Peter Hartigan (2-1)

Brian Minicus (2-1)

Riley Stewart (1-2)

Henri Pfeifle  (0-2)

Jack Joyce (0-1)

Tanner Strub (0-1)

Ryan O'Neil  (0-1)

McMahon Scoring:

Jim Cunningham  1-0

Darien Goalie Saves:  Ryan Cornell (3), Sean Collins (3) and Will Culliton (2-0)

McMahon Goalie Saves:  Peter Ripperger  (8)

Darien Record:  2-0

McMahon Record:  0-1

Darien travels to Union College on Saturday night to take on upstate N.Y. power and nationally ranked Niskayuna at 6pm.