Darien football to receive Walter Camp’s Kelly Award

The Darien football team, which finished as the top-ranked team in the state’s final polls, will be recognized as the Joseph W. Kelly Award winner when the Walter Camp Football Foundation hosts its 14th High School “Breakfast of Champions,” on Saturday, January 8.

The event will be held at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale starting at 8:30 a.m. Tickets are $50 if purchased online, or $60 if purchased by cash/check on the day of the event.

The four Connecticut high school 2021 state champions, Darien (Class LL), Maloney (Class L), Killingly (Class M) and Cromwell/Portland (Class S), will be recognized.

The Blue Wave was 12-1 this season and won the Class LL championship with a 42-7 win over Fairfield Prep on Dec. 11 at Trumbull High. It was Darien’s fourth state championship in the past six years, and it’s first since 2017.

Darien’s first-year head coach Mike Forget, who was the Wave’s defensive coordinator for eight years, is one of three finalists for the 2021 Coach of the Year, presented by Stadium System. Randell Bennett of Class champion Cromwell/Portland co-op and Kevin Frederick of Class L champion Maloney are the other two finalist.

The three finalists for the 2021 Player of the Year are Camryn Edwards (Norwalk), Victor Rosa (Bristol Central) and Theodore Williams (Cromwell/Portland co-op).

In addition, members of the 2021 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams (1st and 2nd) will be recognized.

Darien had five players named to the teams, with David Evanchick and Tighe Cummiskey on the first team, and Christian Alliegro, Cole Murphy and Matt Minicus on the second team.

The Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team is selected by a committee of 10 high school head coaches representing eight conferences around the state.


Offense: QB Victor Rosa, Bristol Central; RB Tighe Cummiskey, Darien; RB Camryn Edwards, Norwalk; WR Nicholas Saccu, Masuk; WR Corbin Smith, Trumbull; TE Theodore Williams, Cromwell/Portland; OL Ned Brady, New Canaan; OL Daniel Lauretti, Bristol Central; OL Kyshawn Togba, West Haven; OL Matthew Weiner, Shelton; Travis Wright, Maloney

Defense: DL Terrence Allen, Killingly; DL David Evanchick, Darien; DL Austin Pszczolkowski, Southington; DL Prince Samuels, Windsor; LB Owen Brunk, Cromwell/Portland; LB Ryan O'Connell, Fairfield Prep; LB Antwone Santiago, Platt; DB Jack Coughlin, Amity; DB Tymaine Smith, Fairfield Prep; DB Iam Graham, Maloney; DB Parker Woodring, Wilton.

Special Teams: PK Christiano Rosa, Shelton; P Jack Barnum, Southington; RET Logan Galletta, Greenwich.


Offense: QB Andrew Nye, Morgan; RB Ethan O'Brien, Hand; RB Jack Sharpe, Killingly; WR Seth Sweitzer, Hand; WR Maxwell Warren, St. Joseph; TE Ben Carley, Trumbull; OL Johnni Bassani, New Fairfield; OL Jake Delfino, Trumbull; OL Joseph Hawkins, West Haven; OL Jake Kiernan, Greenwich; OL Michael Sinisi, Greenwich.

Defense: DL Jack Mullen, Fairfield Prep; DL Cole Murphy, Darien; DL Rakaigh Pettway, Notre Dame-Fairfield; DL Henry Tyus, Rockville; LB Tayshawn Dixon, Notre Dame-Fairfield; LB Mark McLaughlin, Stafford/Somers/East Windsor; LB Zachary Truting, Simsbury; DB Christian Alliegro, Darien; DB Mathyas Nieves, Wethersfield; DB Mysonne Pollard, Norwalk; DB Camryan Winder, Hamden.

Special Teams: PK Tyler Groff, New Canaan; P Michael Cooper, Wilton; RET Matthew Minicus, Darien.

david.stewart@hearstmediact.com; @dstewartsports