Notice is hereby given that there will be a caucus of all enrolled Republican Electors of the Town of Darien at 7:30 p.m. on Jan. 11, 2018 at the Darien Town Hall Auditorium, 2 Renshaw Road, Darien, CT 06820.  This Caucus is called exclusively to endorse candidates for the Darien Republican town committee  and to approve the reformatted and restated rules of the Darien Republican Town Committee. No other business will be in order. The Caucus will endorse candidates to serve on the Darien RTC for the 2018 to 2020 term.

Candidates to be proposed for endorsement at the Caucus are listed below with their voting district:

  • Thomas G. Bell, District 5
  • John V. Boulton, District 5
  • David Anthony Brown, District 5
  • Taylor W. Carter, District 1
  • Alexander H. Davidson, District 2
  • James J. Demark, District 1
  • Bonnie Frate Dora, District 6
  • Mary Forman Flynn, District 2
  • Brent Thomas Hayes, District 1
  • Ann-Gail Hult, District 2
  • Charles A. Koons, III, District 1
  • Douglas J. McKay, District 4
  • Elizabeth P. Smith, District 5
  • Belinda Bewkes Metzger, District 1
  • Bruce G. Orr Sr., District 3
  • Catherine Palazola, District 3
  • Raymond D. Slavin, District 6
  • Jennifer Sommer, District 1
  • Christopher H. Taylor, District 6
  • Cynthia R. Torres, District 3
  • Bert H. von Stuelpnagel, District 1

Other candidates for endorsement by the Caucus may be nominated by petition by submitting to the Chairman or the Secretary of the Darien RTC not less than five (5) days prior to the date set for the Caucus, a declaration of candidacy, which must include the candidate’s name as it appears on the Town of Darien’s list of registered voters, the title of the office being sought, and the signatures of twenty-five (25) registered Republican electors of Darien. There will be no nominations from the floor of the Caucus.  These petitions must be submitted on or before Friday, Jan. 5, 2018, to Darien RTC Chair Brent T. Hayes, 6 Overbrook Lane, Darien, or to Darien RTC Secretary Belinda B. Metzger, 36 Ox Ridge Lane, Darien.

The Darien RTC voted unanimously to submit the reformatted & restated Rules for approval by the Caucus.  These Rules do not amend any current provisions, but have been reformatted and restated to make them easier to navigate and understand by adding a preamble, by adding headings to all sections and subsections, and by simplifying complex sentences. The current Rules and the reformatted & restated Rules can be viewed on the Darien RTC’s website at, and copies will be available at the Caucus.