This November, all eyes are likely to be on the three-way first selectman race among Republican Jayme Stevenson, Democrat John Lundeen and Independent Chris Noe.

But there could also be a contested race for some spots on the Representative Town Meeting.

Last November, there were no contested spots on the RTM.

But in 2009, the last first selectman race, out of the six districts on the RTM, four had contested elections, including one special election later in November to fill a late vacancy, as that spot was also contested.

This year, out of the 100 seats on the RTM, almost half, or 49, are up for election.

Town Clerk Donna Rajczewski said she won't have vacancy numbers until the first week of September, as the deadline for re-nomination of present members is Aug. 30.

Interested new candidates for the RTM can obtain a petition from the town clerk's office and need to get 25 signatures from registered voters to be eligible.

Rajczewski said she's received requests for seven petitions, which were available as of June 21. The deadline for their return is Sept. 13.

According to the town's League of Women Voters, the RTM is Darien's nonpartisan legislative body. Members are elected from the town's six voting daistricts on a proportional basis. The RTM has a limit of 100 members.

The RTM conducts six regular meetings annually. In addition, the moderator may call the RTM into special session. Each member of the RTM serves on a standing committee. Two members from each district serve on the Rules Committee, which determines procedural matters. The moderator of the RTM is elected annually and chairs the Rules Committee.

The RTM passes laws and ordinances, appropriates money, approves collective bargaining contracts involving town employees, and acts on the town budget.

Moderator Karen Armour, a Republican, has been running the RTM for nine and half years and has been a member for 27 years. She will be up for re-election in 2012.