To tbe Editor:

“Volunteering is the ultimate exercise in democracy, you vote in elections once a year but when you volunteer, you vote every day about the kind of community you want to live in.“


The Darien Community thanks the following people who have stepped down from their board or commission in 2017.  

Hugh Balloch-Advisory Commission on Coastal Waters

Timothy Macdonald Architectural Review Board

Sig Buchmayr, Sabrina Harris, Sandy Filmer, Cindy Ryan, Suzanne Schutte Jeff Smith, -Beautification

Michael Harman, Sara Zuro - Board of Education

David Lopiano, Bruce Orr - Board of Finance

Rob Richards- Board of Selectmen, Blight Review Board

Allison Stolar- Energy & Recycling Advisory Committee

Keith Kearney, Ed Sweeney – EPC

Jan Raymond - Darien Housing Authority

Landon Reesor - Human Services 

Phil Kraft - Monuments and Ceremonies 

Marc Ioli - Parks and Rec

Susan Cameron, Eric Voigt - Planning and Zoning

Steven Anderson, Stanley Buchesky, Kate Haueison, Marlene Hayes, Brian McKay, Susan Morrison, Nanci Natale, William Peters, Mathew Raben, Joanne Sawitsky -Representative Town Meeting

Catherine Beckman, Marilyn Hart, Nanci Natalie - TV79 Board of Advisors

Richard Wood- Zoning Board of Appeals

Darien is truly blessed to benefit from the dedication of so many wonderful volunteers. Thank you Thank you Thank you. We wish you all a very Happy and Healthy Holiday season and a wonderful 2018!


The Darien Board of Selectmen