Theresa LaBella of Helen Ainson was awarded the Darien Chamber of Commerce’s employee of the year this week. She received the award from Susan Cator, right, chamber director, and she is joined by Helen Ainson owner Erica Jensen, left.

This award is given annually in memory of Stephen F. Zangrillo, Founder of the Darien Sport Shop, who built his business on customer service, loyalty and trust. Chamber members are encouraged to nominate an employee who best embodies the qualities of “Mr. Z” for the employee’s unending dedication to delivering excellent customer service and devotion to the mission of the business they serve.

An appointed committee of the Darien Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors reviews  the nominations and the selection of the recipient is based on how the nomination exemplifies the award description. The Committee evaluates the nominations anonymously. The award winner has a  final review with the president of the chamber and Gina Zangrillo of the Darien Sport Shop.