The Darien High School Ski awards banquet was held on Wednesday, March 14 to celebrate another successful season.

As voted on by their teammates, the Most Valuable Players for the season were Fay Rizzuto and Peter Del Col.

Fay led the girls team to a 12-5 mark and a first place finish in the Class S Division; Del Col led the boys team to a 10-12 record and a third place finish in the Class S Division.

The girls' times in the State Championships were Rizzuto (50.05), Katharine Graham (54.36), Taylor Hart (54.53), co-captain Kailin Edgar (54.85), Allison Graham (55.67), Abby Howe (58.44), Hannah Nilsson (62.81) Isabel Sellhausen (64.43), Courtney Kyritz (DSQ) and Kelsey Edgar (DSQ).

Alex von Stuelpnagel is the only senior graduating from the boys team. Departing seniors for the girls team are Kailin Edgar, Allison Graham and Emily Clarke.

The boys elected Chris Brophy as a co-captain for the 2012-2013 season. The girls Rizzuto as a co-captain for the 2012-2013 season.

"Fay and Peter certainly deserve the MVP awards," head coach Brian Zeyer said. "They had outstanding times in all the races this season and set great examples for the other team members."

"The team members provided great support for their teammates all season long and I couldn't be more proud of their effort during the season and the Championship races," assistant coach Marc Power said.

More Information

Fact box

For scores and information about the Connecticut Interscholastic Ski League, visit