Ellen Dunn, principal of Darien High School, has announced that 31 students were named Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The students are: Samuel Alptekin, Stephen Barston, Ian Burgoyne, Elena Cage, Pablo Castro, Dylan Cunningham, Conor Davey, James Degnan, James Fox, Elizabeth Fucigna and Christian Kanlian.

Also, Gray Kline, Alexander Kuznetsov, Justin Lindsey, Mitchell Losito, Caroline McKay, Allegra Molkenthin, Jack O'Shea, Nicolai Ostberg, Yasmeen Owainati, Morgan Peters, Eve Phelps, Sebastian Rivero, Madeleine Schneider, Carter Scott, Daniel Siemers, Heidi Steinegger, Daniel Traver, Melanie Turner, Nicholas Tuzinkiewicz and Johanna Vossler.

Dunn will present a Letter of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Corp., which conducts the program, to the seniors.

Approximately 34,000 students throughout the nation are being recognized for the same performance on the test.

Although they do not advance in the 2015 competition for Merit Scholarship awards, "Commended Students" placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2015 competition by taking the 2013 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, according to a news release from the National Merit Scholarship Corp.