The Darien Democratic Town Committee unanimously elected a new 24-member slate. The new committee, which is comprised of 14 returning members and 10 newcomers, will begin serving a two-year term in March.

"It was a good turnout, and everyone seemed very excited about the process," said current DTC chair and re-elected member John Davis.

With local and state races coming up, "2010 is going to be a great year," Davis said. "We'll be providing as much help as possible to the local candidates and to the state candidates. The DTC is excited about the upcoming election cycle and the next two years."

Tuesday night's caucus marked a notable return to the committee.

"Evonne Klein is going to be on the DTC, which we're very happy about. She was on it many years ago, before she was on the Board of Education," Davis said. "She's returning to the DTC, and we're looking forward to having her."

Klein and Davis will serve the DTC along with the following 22 Darienites: Frank Adelman; Carolyn Bayne; Laura Cavers; MariLu Cleary; Tom Duffy; Gary Greene; Marianne Gutierrex; Tony Imbimbo; Rachel Martin; Hank Morgan; Maribeth Sears; Shannon Silsby; Robert Vitler; Richard J. Errington; Tom Valentino; Susan Vogel; Randy Klein; Nancy Coughlin; Debbie Ice; Douglas Dumond; Kim Bealle; and William J. Slinsky.

Election for new officers will occur in March after the new committee begins its term.