The South Western Regional Planning Agency and the South Western Region Metropolitan Planning Organization will hold their annual legislative briefing from 7:30 to 9 a.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 1, at Norwalk City Hall's community room at 125 East Ave.

The meeting will bring together SWRPA's Board, the chief elected municipal officials and transit officials representing the SWRMPO, and state legislators representing the eight cities and towns served by SWRPA and the SWRMPO: Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, Stamford, Weston, Westport and Wilton.

SWRPA is dedicated to preserving and improving the quality of life and economic vitality in southwestern Connecticut. SWRPA focuses on inter-municipal issues of transportation, housing, community development, environment and open space and provides a forum for local governments to foster communication and collaboration in addressing inter-municipal issues and needs. The agency is governed by a 22-member board whose members are all locally appointed citizen volunteers from each of the eight member municipalities.

The responsibility for cooperative decision-making regarding transportation issues rests with the SWRMPO. SWRMPO is comprised of mayors, first selectmen and transit district officials from SWRPA's eight member municipalities.

Continental breakfast will be served at 7:30 a.m. and the meeting will start at 8 a.m. Norwalk Mayor Richard Moccia will offer welcoming remarks, which will be followed by the presentation and discussion of the Region's legislative priorities by the state legislative delegation, the eight municipal chief elected officials and the joint SWRPA/SWRMPO Legislative Committee. The legislative initiatives were established jointly by SWRPA's board and the SWRMPO. Members of the public are also invited to attend. Attendees will receive a copy of the 2012 South Western Region Legislative Initiatives at the meeting.

The snow date for this meeting is Thursday, Feb. 2. More information can be found at

More Information

Fact box