GREENWICH — The 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program recognized 45 Greenwich High School students for their scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Fourteen students qualify for scholarships in the annual academic competition for recognition and undergraduate scholarships, and 31 students were recognized as commended students.

The National Merit organization picked 16,000 semifinalists from the more than 1.5 million students who took the 2019 PSAT last October. These 16,000, including the 14 from GHS, will advance to the finals.

The semifinalists include Julia Blank, Cynthia Chen, Nyle Garg, Lucas Gazianis, Phoebe Hartch, Tobin Hirsch, Timothy Kim, Melanie Leguizamon, Kathleen Piotrzkowski, Margaret Tone, Kira Wang, Zachary Wang, Melissa Woo and Kyle Xiong.

“We are thrilled to have 14 semifinalists and 31 students commended for their achievements on this test,” district officials said. “This group of semifinalists represents the largest number of semifinalists for any private or public school in the state of Connecticut. It’s a testament to the great capabilities of our students and their teachers.”

The Board of Education will recognize these students during their meeting on Dec. 19 at 6:30 p.m. at Julian Curtiss School, located at 180 E. Elm St.

More Information

In addition to advancing 14 Greenwich High School students in a competition for scholarship money, the National Merit Scholarship Program commended 31 GHS students who performed well. They are:

Stanley Araki

Alexander Bein

Mark Bourgeois

Emma Burstiner

Sara Craver

Thomas Fenaroli

Jessica Franco

Joshua Frumin

Victoria Fu

Daniel Gove

Kian Jain

Matthew Jester

Akshay Joglekar

Cole Kaicher

Elliot Kim

Nathan King

Thomas Lewis

Henry McGannon

Matthew Meyers

William Owens

Emil Perdue

Anne-Emilie Rouffiac

Andres Ruh

Shun Sakai

Brennan Scorelle

Nithya Shenoy

Justin Speaker

Peter Stewart

Matthew Sullivan

Amelia Szabo

Isobel Wilson