Slideshow: Darien Police Department awards highest achievers

Darien Police Officer Dan Ehret received the highest honor bestowed on a Darien officer since the implementation of the awards program in last Friday’s department award ceremony for the years 2011 and 2012 — the Medal of Bravery.

The Medal of Bravery is awarded to any officer who demonstrates exceptional heroism in the performance of duty while exposed to a life threatening danger.

Ehret, Detective Mark Cappelli and Officer Derek Mulcahy responded to at a boating accident last July aboard Darien Marine One. Upon arrival, they saw only the boat’s bow sticking through the water. Stamford Fire Department’s fire boat and an Oyster Bay, N.Y., constable boat were already on scene.

Ehret put on diving gear to assist in the rescue, which successfully saved the lives of Dinorah Viaira, 25, and Anthony Basile, 29. Two other passengers, Drew Morris, 29, and Kristina Caldararo, 25, ended up in the water but were also rescued.

Keith Morris, 30, died in the accident. His brother, Drew, was one of those saved.

Cappelli and Mulcahy also received awards for Outstanding Service for the rescue. Outstanding Service awards are given to officers who successfully performs and extremely complex or difficult investigation, demonstrates exceptional skill or ingenuity in the apprehension of a wanted person, or provides outstanding to the public.

Awards were also given to traffic Officers James Martin and Edwin Vigil who not only participated in, but organized all 26 funeral procession police escorts for the 26 victims of December’s Newtown shootings.

An Honorable Career award was given to retired Darien Police Lt. Thomas Krois, whose police car was involved in a head-on collision in April of 2010.The stolen SUV that was driven by a man Stamford Police at one point had at gun point after a road rage incident in that city hit Thomas Krois was driving a marked Darien Police SUV west on the Post Road between Hecker Avenue and Renshaw Road when a stolen SUV driven by a man being pursued by Stamford Police hit the police SUV, resulting in an injury to Krois right leg.

Though he received a mounted version of the damaged license plate from the police SUV he was driving at the time of the collision, he also received an official award for Honorable Service.

“On a regular basis, the men and women of the Darien Police Department are involved in tragic incidents, arrests, and when citizens are involved in crisis situations,” Sgt. Jeremiah Marron, the department’s public information officer, said.

“This unfortunately can portray us as one-sided and can sometimes de-humanize us. On this night we recognize all of the great things Darien officers do throughout the year,” he said.

The awards committee, with the approval of the Chief of Police,  announced the following officers as award, medal and commendation recipients;

Departmental Award for Life Saving

Officer Nick Aranzullo
Officer Greg Benedetto (2)
Officer Derek Mulcahy
Officer Edwin Vigil
Officer Daniel Noto
Officer Scott Macniven

Departmental Award for Meritorious Service

Officer Edwin Vigil
Officer Stuart Schwengerer
Officer Daniel Noto
Officer Michael Cummings

Departmental Award for Outstanding Service

Officer Greg Benedetto
Officer Derek Mulcahy
Officer Scott Macniven
Detective Mark Cappelli
Officer James Martin
Officer Edwin Vigil

Departmental Medal for Bravery

Officer Daniel Ehret

Honorable Career

Lt. Thomas Krois (retired)

Formal Certificates of Commendation

Officer Michael Cummings (2)
Officer Daniel Skoumbros (2)
Officer TJ Garbera
Officer Daniel Gorton
Lieutenant Ronald Bussell
Sergeant Jeremiah Johnson
Detective John Murphy
Detective Saverio Boccuzzi
Tokeneke Constable Daniel Tosches

Civilian Award

Larry Seary of Queens, N.Y. Seary was instrumental in assisting the Detective Bureau with the investigation/recovery of several stolen high end BMW automobiles.

Departmental “Top Shot”

2011-Sergeant John Lawlor
2012-Sergeant John Lawlor

Departmental Achievement in DWI Enforcement

2011- Officer Greg Benedetto
2012- Officer Michael Cummings

Departmental Achievement in Arrests/Criminal

2011- Officer Mauricio Vigil
2012- Officer Mauricio Vigil

Departmental Achievement in Arrests/Motor Vehicle

2011- Officer Edwin Vigil
2012- Officer Edwin Vigil

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

  • chris-noe

    What happened to the award for the person having sex 3 times, “to completion,” with the Asian prostitute before making an arrest.

    The boating award sounds a little fishy. Darien was closest department, the last one to show up, and they get an award?

    The car crash was not “head on”.

    Who gets the award for creative award giving?

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Darien Times, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress