Eighth grade football splits FCFL Championship


Darien 8 White: Front: Cody Schutzman; first row, Charlie Olsen, Jacob Velasco-Navarro, Emmett Sheehan, Charlie Christiansen, Dillon Jones, Brooks Daley, Sean McKay, Timmy Herget, Tanner Strub; back row coach Rich Joyce, Cord Fox, Quinn Fay, Peter Marren, assistant coach Andy Tomasello, Andrew Tomasello, Jack Joyce, Brian Keating, James Johnson, Zack Swetye, Andrew Stueber, Finlay Collins, Teddy Fuller, assistant coach Joel Schutzman.


The two Darien Junior Football League eighth grade teams shared the 2012 Fairfield County Football League championship, with both winning through the playoffs in convincing fashion.

The 8 White team finished the season at 10-1, while the 8 Blue team finished the season 10-0.

The two teams had a combined 40-2 record for the past two seasons.

The 8 White team, coached by Rich Joyce, Joel Schutzman and Andy Tomasello, beat teams from Norwalk, Fairfield and New Canaan en route to its share of the championship.


Blue: front row, Josh Stevenson, Nick Hill, Justin Plank, Will Barker, Jake Bieler, Stefan Schneider, Trevor Gilronan, Kevin Fitzmaurice, Matty Hathaway, Charlie Sealy; second coach Jay Hardison, Ben Wilson, Kip Rand-Riccardi, Logan Buckner, Joe Hardison, Riley Stewart, Brian Peters, Connor Galante, Carl Hunter, Ryan Corcoran, assistant coach Jamie Hunter, Charlie Wright, assistant coach John Wright; not pictured is Joe Strada.

The 8 Blue team, coached by Jay Hardison, John Wright and Jamie Hunter, received a first round bye and then beat teams from Westport and Ridgefield for its share of the championship.

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Darien Times, 10 Corbin Drive, Floor 3, Darien, CT 06820

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress